Nightstands- The tops! And a completed project [Ashley]

You know a project is intense when it calls for two blogs posts. Really, the bottom and tops of my nightstand project were so drastically different from each other that I couldn’t group them together. 

I decided long ago that I wanted to use this technique from Pinterest to do our dining room table. Once I saw that our nightstands were missing a top, this became a good way to practice this technique. 

  
Austin ordered the stencils from Cutting Edge Stencils. I spent a good amount of time researching the method and creating a shopping list of supplies. After a trip to Lowe’s we were ready for some crafting! 
I decided to line up my two nightstand tops and paint their stencils at the same time. I rolled the paint on and moved the stencil to make sure the whole thing was covered. I let the boards dry for 24 hours. 

  
The next day I stained these beauties. The stain is darker than I anticipated, but I like the way it turned out! I let this dry a day as well. 

  
The next day I put on two coats of poly on. One in the morning and one in the evening. This was a fairly painless process and I like the sheen it put on the boards. 

  
At this point then drawers and tops made the trip out west unattached to each other. This was a mistake on my part… They made it through on rain and the tops actually got a little warp… To make sure the tops stayed flat I cheated and put screws directly through the top into the drawer bottoms. One day I may countersink them to hide the screws, but for now they blend pretty well. 

  
Here is my completed project installed in the bus! I love how they turned out and they work really well in Betty 🙂 

  

Leave a Reply

